Home  >  Forbidden City
Forbidden City

Beijing Forbidden City is a royal palace of the Ming and Qing dynasties in China. Located in the center of the central axis of Beijing, the Forbidden City is the essence of Chinese ancient palace architecture. The Beijing Forbidden City is centered on the three main halls, cover an area of ​​720,000 square meters, and has a building area of ​​about 150,000 square meters. There are more than 70 palaces and more than 9,000 houses. It is one of the largest and most complete preserved wooden structures architecture in the world.

Beijing Forbidden City began construction in 1406 and was completed in 1420. It is a rectangular city, 961 meters long from north to south, 753 meters wide from east to west, surrounded by a wall of 10 meters high on all sides, and a 52 meters wide moat outside the city. The buildings in the Forbidden City are divided into the outer palaces and inner palaces. The center of the outer palaces is Taihe Palace, the Zhonghe Palace and Baohe Palace. They are collectively called the three main palaces and is the place where the nation holds large ceremonies. The center of inner palaces is Qianqing Palace, Jiaotai Palace, and Kunning Palace. They are collectively known as the three inner palaces, where are the living places for the emperor and the empress.

Beijing Forbidden City is regarded as the top of the world's five largest palaces (Forbidden City, Versailles Palace, Buckingham Palace, White House and Kremlin). It is a national AAAAA-class tourist attraction and was listed as the first batch of national cultural relics protection units in 1961. In 1987 it was listed as a World Cultural Heritage.

Forbidden City (Beijing)

Location: Located in the center of the central axis of Beijing

Suggested Duration: 3-4 hours

Opening Hours:4.1-10.31: 08:20-17:00; 11.1-3.31: 08:30-16:30 (closed every Mondays)

Category:Cultural landscape