Home  >  Mount Kailash
Mount Kailash

Mount Kailash (or Kangrinboqe) is located in the north of Purang County, southwest of Tibet. It is one of the four Sacred Mountains of Tibetan Buddhism. Kangrinboqe means "Mountain of Buddhist Deity" in Tibetan, and "Paradise for Shiva" in Sanskrit. The Gangdis Mountains cross between the northern Kunlun Mountains and the southern Himalayas, such as a dragon lying on the vast plateau in western Tibet. Its raised head, such as a large pyramid, is the main peak Kangrinboqe of 6656 meters above sea level.

Mount Kailash is a world-recognized Sacred Mountain. It is recognized as the center of the world by Bön, Buddhism, Hinduism and Jainism. Kangrinboqe is not the highest mountain in the region, but it's the only mountain shining singular and brilliant light. In addition to the special shape, people have to be filled with religious piety and excitement. People's worship of Mount Kailash can be dated back to about 1000 BC.

Mount Kailash (Ngari)


Suggested Duration:

Opening Hours: